Parents

We offer a 90 minute parent class to help you get the most our of your drivers education experience. Teaching your teen to drive can be a confusing time and we want you to have everything you need to be successful.

Agenda: We will answer all of your questions about how driver’s education works. You’ll get a refresher on Minnesota driving rules, learn about testing guidelines and Minnesota’s Graduated Driver’s Licensing Program, and get tips for teaching your teen to be a safe and responsible driver.

State Requirements: After taking this class you will receive a “Parent Class Completion” document to turn in at your student’s road test. This document certifies that you can decrease your number of state-required driving hours with your student (reducing the required hours from 50 to 40.)

Parents tell us this class is VERY helpful. Minnesota driving laws change often – they have certainly changed since you got your license - and this is a great way to stay on top of everything!.

RSVP is required for the parent class. Please note, class is subject to cancellation with less than 5 parent registrants.

*See the calendar below for upcoming classes.

We are now offering a student/parent portal. This will allow you to check the classes attended and register for the classroom portion online. Eventually it will lead to the BTW scheduling portion of drivers education once you have completed the classroom portion.

Register, Log in, explore the portal, or reserve a spot in class today!

How do I get my license if I am under age 18?

1) Earn your instructional Permit

The first step towards driving in minnesota is passing the Minnesota knowledge test and getting an instructional permit. In order to take the Minnesota knowledge test you must:

  • Complete 30 hours of classroom instruction
  • Obtain a "blue card" by enrolling in an approved Behind the Wheel program
  • Be at least 15 years of age. (You can take the classes at age 14.)
  • Bring two forms of identification and your "blue card" to the knowledge test.

2) Earn your provisional license

Upon passing the knowledge test and receiving the Minnesota instructional permit, you are allowed to practice driving if you are with a licensed driver who is in the front seat and at least 21 years old. To take the Minnesota road test, you must:

  • Completion of 6 hours Behind The Wheel (BTW) instruction and receive your "white card".
  • Completion of 50 hours of Behind the Wheel training (15 of those hours must be at night) with a parent or guardian who is at least 21 years of age.
  • Hold your permit for six months.
  • Be at least sixteen years of age.
  • Bring a vehicle with proof of insurance, your instruction permit, the "white card" and the state issued driving log on the date of your driving test.

3) Earn your full license

You will not be able to apply for your full license until you have driven on your provisional license for 12 months or until you are 18 years old. Be sure to follow Minnesota laws that place restrictions on drivers with provisional licenses.


How do I get started?

You just need to fill out the contract, which is required by the state to begin. Fill out the information in full, include listing the date you are starting. You can pay online, over the phone, through the mail, or in person.


What sets you apart from other schools

In addition to our great prices, flexability, safe and energy effecient cars, and excellent curriculim...drivers education is our passion. We understand that the #1 killer of teens is traffic related crashes, which acually take more teens then drugs, guns, suicide, and all other accidents combined. It is our mission to teach with that in mind.


Do you have a payment plan?

Yes we have three options:
  1) Pay all at once
  2) Pay $200.00 down and the remaining is due on the date of the last class
  3) Pay in three installments of $125.00 at the start of class, at the end of class, and on the first BTW.


When do classes start? How does you schedule work?

Start any time. We have a flexible schedule that allows for you to start on any day and do the classes in any order on your own timeline. The classes are independent pods numbered 1-10 and you need to attend each of the ten classes. Each class covers material that does not need to build on previous topics. Just look at the online schedule to see which classes are taught on which days, and pick the days that work best for you.


How quickly can I finish the classes?

One great advantage of coming to Elite Driving School is that you can complete all the classes in two weeks if you wish. Many places take a month or more to complete the classes.


What if I took classroom somewhere else, but I want to take Behind the Wheel here?

You need to bring us the "letter of course completion" that every classroom program is required to give. Once you have registered and paid for BTW here, we will give you the "blue card" so you can take your knowledge test.


Where do you pick up for Behind the Wheel

We pick you up at your house or any other designated location, like your school.


What does "going green" have to do with drivers ed?

There are several ways to reduce the ammount of waste in drivers education. We reduce gasoline consumption and CO2 emissions through the use of hybrid vehicles. Hybrids also save money, and instead of putting that money in our pockets, we pass the savings on to you. Our classroom eliminates 80% of paper used in a typical classroom. With our interactive curriculum, the quizzes are projected digitally, instead of on paper. The added benefit is we are able to see more clearly how students are doing and which topics need more instruction.

Any Other Questions?